RealID and you

07Jul10

I’ve been over at the WOW_Ladies community reading a thread mentioned by BBB. One poster actually made a comment that I wanted to reply to. Unfortunately not being part of the community I can’t post replies there.. but.. since I have my own arena to post my opinions.

@sodzilla

“It’s perfectly thinkable to me, alas, because this is just the latest way Blizz proves that it’s run by a bunch of white guys who assume all their customers are white guys and that concerns white guys don’t generally have to face don’t enter their mental space.”

Somehow, I don’t see this as a racial or gender issue, it’s much broader than that. It affects all of us male and female, black, yellow, white, red and brown. I do not like this new policy of blizzards for the same reason many others have posted. I don’t want prospective employers looking up my online activities. Not that playing a video game should grounds for not selecting a candidate for a job. But in my field there are some people not playing with a full quantity of marbles.

The issue of virtual/physical stalkers is a very real worry. There are some people out there that don’t have that good of a grasp on reality, and might try to retaliate against someone that argued with them in a forum post. Since I have children to consider the safety of, this also worries me. I’d rather take my chances with forum trolls which can be beaten by ignoring them, than risk the invasion of privacy this system affords.

Generally I forget the forums are even there most of the time. I have very limited time online anymore and don’t usually spend it reading pointless message boards full of trolls and flame wars. There are a few threads that I have found some limited use form, mostly in letting others do theorycrafting and letting me  skim through it for ideas to improve my own gaming experience.

What matters to Blizzard is dollars and cents, unfortunately they are short on sense. If they do not back off on this RealID outrage, I do expect to see a sharp decline in the WOW gaming population. I have been playing around with allods online here and there, I find it quite fun so far, especially for a free game. There are also other paid MMO’s out there, from Warhammer to Final Fantasy 11 to Star Wars and Star trek. If I ever decided to quit WOW, I would probably try out Star wars, Always wanted to be a Jedi… Or I may save myself that monthly fee and just play around with allods.

In Short… RealID = EPIC FAIL

3 Responses to “RealID and you”

  1. I totally agree. The only thing I ever use the forum for is when Blizz GMS practically force you to go there for reporting bugs, as CONCERNS (when they say it works as intended BS!). All it takes is having had the person tell you like once a general area that you are from, and there ya go they can look up your address, your phone number, etc. I have even had people I know in real life do weird shit like get background checks on guys they’re dating. That would probably be simple enough to do for people over the web and would give the stalker way too much personal info. This really is a bad bag of tricks for blizz to be opening.

  2. 2 JohnG228

    I agree, this is not a gender or race issue. She may be right, and the people making the decisions about this are white guys, who knows. But the decisions being made are all about making money. Now I’m not sure if they will make what they think they are, but don’t kid yourselves. This, like most decisions made by corporations, it’s all about money.

    Activision-Blizzard is a corporation, run my business types now. Not what it used to be, a gaming company, run by gamers.

    • Well, we won after a fashion!
      http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?topicId=25968987278&sid=1

      Courtesy of Nethaera
      ******************************
      Hello everyone,

      I’d like to take some time to speak with all of you regarding our desire to make the Blizzard forums a better place for players to discuss our games. We’ve been constantly monitoring the feedback you’ve given us, as well as internally discussing your concerns about the use of real names on our forums. As a result of those discussions, we’ve decided at this time that real names will not be required for posting on official Blizzard forums.

      It’s important to note that we still remain committed to improving our forums. Our efforts are driven 100% by the desire to find ways to make our community areas more welcoming for players and encourage more constructive conversations about our games. We will still move forward with new forum features such as the ability to rate posts up or down, post highlighting based on rating, improved search functionality, and more. However, when we launch the new StarCraft II forums that include these new features, you will be posting by your StarCraft II Battle.net character name + character code, not your real name. The upgraded World of Warcraft forums with these new features will launch close to the release of Cataclysm, and also will not require your real name.

      I want to make sure it’s clear that our plans for the forums are completely separate from our plans for the optional in-game Real ID system now live with World of Warcraft and launching soon with StarCraft II. We believe that the powerful communications functionality enabled by Real ID, such as cross-game and cross-realm chat, make Battle.net a great place for players to stay connected to real-life friends and family while playing Blizzard games. And of course, you’ll still be able to keep your relationships at the anonymous, character level if you so choose when you communicate with other players in game. Over time, we will continue to evolve Real ID on Battle.net to add new and exciting functionality within our games for players who decide to use the feature.

      In closing, I want to point out that our connection with our community has always been and will always be extremely important to us. We strongly believe that Every Voice Matters, ( http://us.blizzard.com/en-us/company/about/mission.html ) and we feel fortunate to have a community that cares so passionately about our games. We will always appreciate the feedback and support of our players, which has been a key to Blizzard’s success from the beginning.

      Mike Morhaime
      CEO & Cofounder
      Blizzard Entertainment


Leave a Reply

